Unilorin Wins West African Debate Championship That Held In Ghana

Report have it that the last round of the championship that held on Sunday, 7th of January at the University of Ghana was contested by the following teams viz:

¶In Opening government- Jessica Amoor (University of Ghana) & Esinam Osei-Bonsu (Kwame Nkrumah University of science and Technology)

¶In Opening Opposition- Faithfulness Okom (University of Calabar) & Derrick Ackah (Ghana Law school, Mokola)
In Closing Government- Richard Adu-Poku (Africa Leadership University, Mauritius) & Omotayo Jimoh (UNILORIN).

¶In Closing Opposition- Hawau Abikan & David Ejim (both of UNILORIN), with the University of Ilorin emerging champions.

The debate team was also awarded 3 of the top 10 speakers medals, the best female debater award, the Second best judge medal (won by Abolarin Mohammed) and one of Unilorin students, Adekunbi Ademola, served as the Co-Chief Adjudicator of the competition.

The following Universities attended the programme viz:

1. University of Ghana, Legon

2. Covenant University, Otta

3. University of Lagos

4. Zenith University College, Accra

5. Federal University of Technology Akure

6. Islamic University College, Accra

7. University of Calabar

8. Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA)

9. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti

10. Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi

11. University of Ilorin

12. Africa Leadership University, Mauritius

13. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of

See More