ASUU split – Lecturers leave to form new group.

Some university lecturers have broken away from the Academic Staff Union of Universities; to form a new group, Congress of University Academics (CONUA).

Niyi Ismaheel, the National Coordinator of the new union; said that the lecturers decided to form the new group in a bid to redefine unionism and also return peace and stability in university.

While speaking to reporters at its first national stakeholder forum at the Obafemi Awolowo University- Ile Ife (OAU); Ismaheel said that the new union would develop a new approach of addressing the welfare of its members; and to put to an end the unnecessary wasting of student’s academic time due to frequent strike actions.

He also claimed that the new union already has members in Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma, Federal University, Oye Ekiti, Federal University, Lokoja and Kwara state university, Molete.

What are your thoughts on this?

Leave a Reply

1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
0 Comment authors
#SexForGrades: ASUU's Possible Involvement And How Twitter Is Reacting. - Vasiti Magazine Recent comment authors

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

newest oldest most voted
Notify of

[…] Meanwhile, did you know some members of ASUU have left the union to form another body? Read it here […]

See More